Humane Canada Frederic A. McGrand Award

Humane Canada’s Frederic A. McGrand Award

The award is named after the late Senator Frederic A. McGrand, a founding director and past president of Humane Canada. Throughout his life, the Senator recognized and advocated respect for all life. He left an important and ongoing philosophical legacy to the animal welfare movement and also established a charitable trust that continues to benefit humane societies and SPCAs in Atlantic Canada.

Please note that the Frederic A. McGrand Lifetime Achievement Award was not presented in 2018.

The 2017 Frederic A. McGrand Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Dr. David Suzuki!

Image of Dr. David Suzuki

Dr. David Suzuki is a scientist, broadcaster, author and the co-founder of the David Suzuki Foundation. He is Companion to the Order of Canada and a recipient of UNESCO’s Kalinga Prize for science, the United Nations Environment Program medal, the 2012 Inamori Ethics Prize, the 2009 Right Livelihood Award and UNEP’s Global 500. Dr. Suzuki is Professor Emeritus at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver and holds 29 honorary degrees from universities around the world.

He is familiar to television audiences as host of the CBC science and natural history television series The Nature of Things, and to radio audiences as the original host of CBC Radio’s Quirks and Quarks, as well as the acclaimed series It’s a Matter of Survival and From Naked Ape to Superspecies. In 1990, he co-founded The David Suzuki Foundation with Dr. Tara Cullis to collaborate with Canadians from all walks of life, including government and business, to conserve our environment and find solutions that will create a sustainable Canada through science-based research, education and policy work.

His written work includes more than 55 books, 19 of them for children. Dr. Suzuki lives with his wife and family in Vancouver, BC.

Created in 1985, the prestigious Humane Canada Frederic A. McGrand Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to animal welfare in Canada. Past winners include wildlife rehabilitation pioneers Kay and Larry McKeever, animal welfare advocate and veterinarian Dr. Carol Morgan, farm animal welfare champions Tom and Sharon van Milligen, among many others.

Past winners of the Humane Canada Frederic A. McGrand Award

The Frederic A. McGrand Lifetime Achievement Award has been given out on a semi-annual basis since 1985. Here are the past winners:

Dr. David Suzuki
Vancouver BC

Dr. David Fraser
Vancouver BC

Rob Laidlaw
Toronto ON

Dr. Carol Morgan
Malahat BC

Carol Baird
Exploits Valley NL

Cathy Thomas
Calgary AB

Pat LeGrow
Cornwall PE

Joy Ripley
Calgary AB

Dr. Alice Crook
Charlottetown PE

Mary L. Driscoll
Calgary AB

E. Jean
Mercer NL

Marjorie Ignatieff
Ottawa ON

Eleanor Dawson
Winnipeg MB

Robert Gardiner
Gormley ON

Stephanie Brown
Toronto ON

Deborah Powers
St. John’s NL

Sandra Bond
Winnipeg MB

Stuart Rammage
Penticton BC

Hilda Smith
St. John’s NL

Tom and Sharon van Milligen
Bridgewater NS

Dr. Denna Benn
Guelph ON

Joan Clark
Montreal QC

Muriel Plamandon
Quebec City QC

Molly Hardy
Winnipeg MB

Constance Hoover
Moncton NB

Philip Baines (posthumously)
Saskatoon SK

Kay and Larry McKeever
Vineland ON

Norman Nunn
Ottawa ON

Marjorie Wright
North Bay ON

Senator F.A. McGrand
Fredericton and Ottawa